13
Aug
07

Inflatables.

So I’ve been trying to find other inflatable art to reference in my work. Here are some I’ve found recently – I’ll keep adding as I find more.

I found this absolutely adorable giant inflatable rubber duckie by Florentijn Hofman at the Wooster Collective. For the exhibition “Loire Estuary 2007”, the Duck sits in the Loire River itself. I kindof like the contrast of the dull, gloomy weather to the bright and happy duck.

Rubber Duck by Florentijn Hofman

And the taco pointed me to Engadget to see this inflatable dress/chair combo, called the Self-Sustainable Chair by JooYoun Paek. The artist says:

“Self-Sustainable Chair, a dress made out of polyethylene, connected to shoes that pump air into an inflatable bubble attached to its rear part on each step. The dress slowly transforms into a chair with each step and holds the person to sit on it naturally… Self-Sustainable chair is a conceptual garment that motivates users to consistently switch between walking and sitting as a loop behavior on the street. The balance between exercise and rest would be maintained by wearing this suit. The purpose of this project is to transform the humdrum experiences produced by routine walking commutes into an amusing interactive performance.”

Self-Sustainable Chair by JooYoun Paek

Ages ago I saw this work called ‘Pump It Up‘ by Nacho Carbonell Ivars at We Make Money Not Art. There are little rubber blobs, attached by tubes to an inflated chair. You are invited to sit on the chair, and in doing so, you inflate the blobs – which turn out to be cute little animals (or ‘parasites’).

Pump It Up by Nacho Carbonell Ivars

That will be it for inflatables today. As I said I’ll add more as I find them.

-Lydia

1 Response to “Inflatables.”


  1. 1 ashlinnharty
    August 17, 2007 at 10:10 am

    To Lydia,
    I think I am in love with that rubber duck. It is so cute. I just wanted to send you this link to photo of i have seen of your space invaders bag.
    http://www.ohgizmo.com/2007/08/06/rockza-space-invaders-pvc-bag/

    From Ashlinn


Leave a Reply

